CONF Jan 7, 2022

University Art Museums and Their Collections (online, 28 Jan-13 May 22)

online / West Coast Chapter of the Society for the History of Collecting, Jan 28–May 13, 2022
Registration deadline: Jan 27, 2022

Adriana Turpin

University Art Museums and Their Collections

A series of monthly lectures, organised by the West Coast Chapter of the Society for the History of Collecting, that explores the roles of university museums in the United States. Curators from a wide range of different university museums discuss the foundations of their collections and the purposes for which they were established The talks provide fascinating insights into the contemporary concerns of curators and their strategies for making their collections relevant to specific needs of university teaching and students today.

PROGRAMME

January 28 (Friday) 10 AM (PST), 6 PM (GMT):
Annette Becker, Director, Texas Fashion Collection at University of North Texas,
“Collectors’ Clothing Caches: Selections from the Texas Fashion Collection”

February 9, 2022 (Wednesday) 10 AM (PST) 6 PM (BST)
Tal Granovsky Amit, Director of the Rose Fashion and Textile Archive, Shenkar, Israel
“Understanding the Past, Designing the Future”

March 18, 2022 (Friday) 10 AM PDT/MST, 12 PM CDT, 1 PM EDT, 5 PM GMT:
Andria Derstine, John G. W. Cowles Director, Allen Memorial Art Museum, Oberlin
College
"The Allen Memorial Art Museum at Oberlin College: Historic Collections, New Directions"
April 14, 2022 (Thursday) 11 AM (PST), 2 PM (EST), 7 PM (BST):
Miriam Stewart, Curator of the Collection, Division of European and American Art, Harvard Art Museums
“Harvard’s Art Museum(s): A History”

May 13, 2022 (Thursday) 12 PM (PST), 3 PM (EST), 8 PM (BST):
Amanda Gilvin, Sonja Novak Koerner '51 Senior Curator of Collections and Assistant Director of Curatorial Affairs, Davis Museum at Wellesley College
“Decolonial Goals at the Davis: Reckoning with the Wellesley Method”

Registration is required for nonmembers for each event. To register please email: eventssocietyhistorycollecting.org. You will receive the link for each session the day before the event takes place. Alternatively you can request the link for individual talks via our website: https://societyhistorycollecting.org/

Reference:
CONF: University Art Museums and Their Collections (online, 28 Jan-13 May 22). In: ArtHist.net, Jan 7, 2022 (accessed Jul 5, 2022), <https://arthist.net/archive/35626>.

^