CONF Jan 6, 2022

European Society for Aesthetics Annual Conference (online/Tallinn 28-30 Jun 22)

online/Tallinn, Estonia, Jun 28–30, 2022
Registration deadline: Jan 15, 2022

Regina-Nino Mion, Tallinn

European Society for Aesthetics Annual Conference

Call for abstracts: January 15, 2022

The ESA Conference 2022 is to be held on 28–30 June 2022 at Estonian Academy of Arts (Põhja puiestee 7) in Tallinn. If the COVID-19 pandemic and related travel restrictions do not allow in-person meeting, the conference will move online or to a hybrid mode. The conference is co-organised by the ESA and the Estonian Academy of Arts. Conference fee is 40€ for students and 80 € for academics.

The keynote speakers:

Professor Emmanuel Alloa (University of Fribourg)

Professor Jacques Rancière (University of Paris VIII)

Professor Virve Sarapik (Estonian Academy of Arts)

Call for Abstracts

The European Society for Aesthetics invites you to submit an abstract of a paper for presentation at the ESA Conference. We invite papers from all traditions and on any topic in philosophical aesthetics. Both systematic and historical presentations are acceptable. For each talk, there will be time for a 20–25-minute presentation, with about another 20 minutes designated for discussion. All papers presented at the conference are eligible for publication in the Proceedings of the ESA.

Submissions must be long abstracts (800-1200 words in length) presenting not only the main ideas and claims of the paper, but also the arguments in favour of them. We encourage the presentation of submissions in English, but submissions in other major European languages will be considered equally. Full paper submissions will not be accepted, and submissions are limited to one per person. Please, do not exceed the word limit.

Please use the PDF-file format for submission and render your text completely anonymous (metadata included) to allow for blind refereeing. To submit your long abstract, please use the EasyChair online submission system (first-time users will be asked to register with EasyChair) via the website:

The deadline for submissions of long abstracts and panel proposals is 15th January 2022. We aim to inform you about the result of our selection process by the end of February, depending on the number of submissions.

Call for Panel Proposals

We also invite submission of panels, which can be dedicated to a specific topic or a recently published book, relevant within the field of aesthetics. Panels should include up to four people whose names should be acknowledged. Panel proposals will be evaluated on all or nothing basis. In addition to being included in a panel proposal, you are also permitted to submit a long abstract of a paper for consideration.

To propose the panel, please follow the same procedure as described above.
All questions about submissions should be emailed to

The 2022 Fabian Dorsch ESA Essay Prize Contest Announced

The European Society for Aesthetics awards an essay prize for PhD students and early career scholars (max. three years from the doctorate) in connection with its yearly conference. Former winners of the prize are not eligible to participate. The prize consists of stipend of 500€. The winning essay will be considered for publication in the journal Estetika: The European Journal of Aesthetics.

All submissions to the prize must be in English. The selection of the prize winner will be broken down into two stages. First submissions should be made by following the general call of the ESA 2022 conference and all submissions will be considered for presentation at the conference. Please place “(Essay Prize)” after the title of your submission in EasyChair to indicate that you want your submission to be considered for the prize. After the first round of reviews, selected authors will be asked to submit a full conference paper (max. 5,000 words, including bibliographies and footnotes) by April 15th, 2022. The recipient of the prize will be selected from this group. We aim to announce the winner by May 10th, 2022.

The ESA Essay Prize is named after a co-founder and the first secretary of The European Society for Aesthetics, Fabian Dorsch (1974 – 2017). Its former winners include Servaas van der Berg (2017), Mark Windsor (2018), Irene Martínez Marín (2019), Jeremy Page (2020) and Nemesio G. C. Puy (2021).

CONF: European Society for Aesthetics Annual Conference (online/Tallinn 28-30 Jun 22). In:, Jan 6, 2022 (accessed Jul 6, 2022), <>.