ArtHist.net

Media Art Histories Award 2024

Bogota

Deadline: Dec 20, 2024

Prof. aD Dr. habil. Dr. hc Oliver GRAU, Archive for Digital Art @ Society for Media, Art, Science and Technology

On the occasion of its 11th biennial World Conf. RE:GENERATIVE 2025, the Media Art Histories Conference Executive Board is pleased to announce its call for nominations for the Media Art Histories Award for Contributions to the Field!

The Media Art Histories award is biennially conferred upon an individual scholar working in any language in recognition for their innovative and inspirational contribution to the field of Media Art Histories, sustained development of the global community & research of Media Art, and for scholarly excellence at the highest level.

Previous MediaArtHistories Award winners are:

- Prof. Dr. Barbara STAFFORD (2015)
- Prof. Werner NEKES (2017)
- Prof. Dr. Anne-Marie DUGUET (2019)
- Prof. Dr. Christiane PAUL (2023)

The ceremony of the Media Art Histories Award will take place at the RE: GENERATIVE 2025 Conference on the Histories of Media Art, Science and Technology to be held in May 2025 in Manizales/Bogota in Colombia.

The Media Art Histories Executive Board asks for your nominations. Please submit proposals of approximately 500 words (English or Spanish) describing the nominee's merit and achievements in scholarship in the histories of the media arts, the arts and science and/or the arts and technology.

The time for nomination will close on December 20th, 2024. Please submit your proposal in Spanish or English to coordination(at)mediaarthistory.org

A committee of board and non-board members will select the MediaArtHistories Award winner.

Initiated by the Media Art Histories Executive Board: Najam ASSAR (PK/DK), Andres BURBANO (ESP/CO), Sean CUBITT (AU), Oliver GRAU (DE/AT Conference Founder/Chair Soc. for MediaArtHistories), Inge HINTERWALDNER (DE), Laura LEUZZI (UK), Gunalan NADARAJAN (SG/US), Chris SALTER (CH), Yu-Chuan TSENG (TW)

Media Art Histories Honorary Board: Rudolf ARNHEIM, Linda HENDERSON (served in the Board from 2005-2018), Douglas KAHN (2005-2018), Martin KEMP (2005 - 2018), Tim LENOIR (2005-2016), Douglas DAVIS, Jasia REICHARDT, Itsuo SAKANE (2005-2023), Peter WEIBEL

(2005-2023), Erkki HUHTAMO (2005-2023), Machiko KUSAHARA (2005-2023)

MISSION MAH Conference Series

"Recognizing the increasing significance of media art for our culture, this conference for the Histories of Media Art discusses media art within the interdisciplinary and intercultural contexts of the histories of art, media, science and technology." (Villa Vigoni, Menaggio, Italy 2004)

Media Art History Conference Series and Archive: www.mediaarthistory.org

LIVERPOOL DECLARATION: http://www.mediaarthistory.org/declaration

Reference:

ANN: Media Art Histories Award 2024. In: ArtHist.net, Oct 16, 2024 (accessed Jul 31, 2025), https://arthist.net/archive/42920>.