ArtHist.net

CAA Art History Award Nominations

Deadline: Sep 4, 2019

Cali Buckley

CAA is now accepting nominations for the Distinguished Teaching of Art History Award and the Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing on Art.

The Distinguished Teaching of Art History Award, established in 1977, is presented to an individual who has been actively engaged in teaching art history for most of their career. Among the range of criteria that may be applied in evaluating candidates are: inspiration to a broad range of students in the pursuit of humanistic studies; rigorous intellectual standards and outstanding success in both scholarly and class presentation; contribution to the advancement of knowledge and methodology in the discipline, including integration of art-historical knowledge with other disciplines; and aid to students in the development of their careers.

In the past, the Distinguished Teaching of Art History Award has gone to well-respected teachers and scholars such as Jules Prown (1996), Anne Coffin Hanson (1990), Meyer Shapiro (1981), and Phoebe B. Stanton (1980). Recent recipients include Wu Hung (2008), Richard Shiff (2010), and Patricia Hills (2011). Exemplifying the important connection between scholarship and teaching, Robert Herbert, Oleg Grabar, and James Cahill have received both the teaching award and the Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing on Art.

The Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing on Art, established in 2003, celebrates the career of an author of note and includes art criticism, art history, art biography, and/or art theory. The award is presented to an author who, among other distinctions, has demonstrated particular commitment to their work throughout a long career and has had an impact, nationally and internationally, on the field.

Although the Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing on Art was established fairly recently, the award juries have honored the writing careers of notable luminaries in the field, including Hans Belting, Oleg Grabar, Georges Didi-Huberman, John Berger, and, most recently, Molly Nesbit.

Nominations are due September 4, 2019. Nominations should be sent by email to Cali Buckley, CAA Grants and Special Programs Manager, at cbuckley@collegeart.org. For more information about award requirements and qualifications, please visit: http://www.collegeart.org/programs/awards/nominations

> Reference: ANN: CAA Art History Award Nominations. In: ArtHist.net, Jul 4, 2019 (accessed Jul 13, 2025), <https://arthist.net/archive/21245>.